Nature

FOR NATURE’S SAKE – Our sustainabie KitchenBoxes

When I founded KitchenBox out of my garage back in autumn 2020, I knew I also wanted to give something back to our environment! As someone passionate about camping, nature has always been super close to my heart, especially the forest.
It can be genuinely heartbreaking seeing the many diseased and dead trees on hiking tours through the beautiful Harz mountains. Unfortunately, it’s not a rare phenomenon: many of our German forests are struggling, displaying symptoms of ill health over vast stretches. Yet a healthy forest is so essential for all of us: Trees not only bind carbon dioxide and produce oxygen but also improve soil properties by storing water. They also offer natural protection against erosion and an optimal habitat for all those different animal, insect and plant species.

There are many more factors to how trees and nature work their magic, which I shouldn’t really elaborate on right here. But if you’d like to learn more about it, check the link below!

On the path to more sustainability

During my extensive research into sustainability, I also compared different foundations focusing on nature conservation. . My goal was to team up with a trustworthy organisation operating similarly “bespoke” like myself. It just didn’t feel right to simply donate whatever cash amount to one of the well-known transnational environmental organisations. At last, I stumbled upon the website of PLANT-MY-TREE®. They are a German organisation based in Mülheim an der Ruhr and adhere to the following four ethical principles:

1. PLANTING IN GERMANY
PLANT-MY-TREE® plant mainly in our home country, in Germany – this keeps them regional, traceable and you can actually visit their forests in person.

2. TÜV-CERTIFIED
PLANT-MY-TREE®’s processes and the documents they issue are TÜV-certified according to DIN ISO 9001:2015.

3. SUSTAINABLE AND LONG-TERM CLIMATE PROTECTION
They take care of initial afforestation, forest conversion, forest protection and forest regeneration.

4. PLANT-MY-TREE. THE FOUNDATION.
They transfer their own reforested areas over to “PLANT-MY-TREE. The Foundation”, thus accompanying their projects for at least 99 years.

Urkunde KitchenBox Startseite2
You’ll receive an actual certificate!

The really cool and personal aspect here is that you can buy individual trees! You’re receiving a tree certificate and thus become a tree sponsor. The exact individual geocoordinates of your planted tree are printed on the certificate, giving you the opportunity to even visit your piece of forest. Hard to beat in terms of sustainability!

I felt that it would be a great idea to give each KiBo customer a tree as a gift. That way, a small tree will be planted for every KitchenBox sold, contributing to the protection of our nature.
Since that day, each customer receives an individual tree certificate with their tree number and its exact location. It’s our way of actively helping to protect and reforest the German forests.

Camping Kitchen KitchenBox

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natur
Naturschutz

Der Natur zuliebe – Nachhaltigkeit der Kitchen Box

Seit der Gründung von „Kitchen Box“ im Herbst 2020, war es mir ein Bedürfnis etwas für den Umweltschutz zu tun! Als Camper liegt mir die Natur selber sehr am Herzen, besonders der Wald.
Um so trauriger werde ich, wenn ich auf Wandertouren durch den Harz die vielen kranken und toten Bäume sehe. Leider sind unsere Wälder deutschlandweit oft krank und großflächig abgestorben. Dabei ist ein gesunder Wald so extrem wichtig. Denn Bäume binden nicht nur Kohlendioxid und produzieren Sauerstoff. Zusätzlich verbessern Bäume die Bodeneigenschaften durch das Speichern von Wasser. Außerdem sind Sie ein natürlicher Erosionsschutz und der optimale Lebensraum für viele unterschiedlichen Tier-, Insekten- und Pflanzenarten.

Dies hat unterschiedlichste Gründe, auf die ich hier nicht im Detail eingehen kann und möchte. Wenn du hierzu mehr erfahren möchtest, dann kannst du dich gern auf dem unten stehenden Link informieren.

Auf dem Weg zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit

Ich recherchierte lange und verglich verschiedenste Stiftungen die sich mit dem Naturschutz beschäftigen. Mein Ziel war es etwas “besonderes” und so individuelles wie unsere Kitchen Boxen zu finden. Ich konnte mich nicht mit dem Gedanken anfreunden, einfach einen bestimmten Betrag an große, global agierende Umweltorganisationen zu spenden. Schließlich fand die Internetseite von “PLANT-MY-TREE®“. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein deutsches Unternehmen mit Sitz in Mülheim an der Ruhr. Es zeichnet sich durch folgende vier Punkte aus:

1. PFLANZUNG IN DEUTSCHLAND
Sie pflanzen hauptsächlich in unserer Heimat, in Deutschland – damit sind sie regional, nachvollziehbar und die Wälder sind begehbar. 

2. TÜV-ZERTIFIZIERT
Die Abläufe und die entsprechenden Dokumentationen sind TÜV-zertifiziert nach DIN ISO 9001:2015.

3. NACHHALTIGER UND LANGFRISTIGER KLIMASCHUTZ
Dieser umfasst Erstaufforstung, Waldumbau, Waldschutz und Waldverjüngung.

4. PLANT-MY-TREE. DIE STIFTUNG.
Ihre eigenen bepflanzten Flächen übergeben sie an „PLANT-MY-TREE®. Die Stiftung.“, welche das jeweilige Projekt mindestens 99 Jahre lang begleitet. 

Urkunde KitchenBox Startseite2
Urkunde die Du bekommst!

Das wirklich tolle und individuelle ist, dass man einzelne Bäume kaufen kann! Man erhält eine Baumurkunde und ist dann Baum-Pate. Auf der Urkunde sind dann die genauen Geo-Koordinaten der gepflanzten Bäume aufgedruckt. So hat man sogar die Möglichkeit sein Stückchen Wald zu besuchen. An Nachhaltigkeit nicht zu übertreffen.

Ich fand diese Idee einfach klasse und hatte mir überlegt, jedem Kunden einer KiBo einen Baum zu schenken. Somit wird für jede verkaufte Kitchen Box ein kleiner Baum gepflanzt und somit zum Umweltschutz beigetragen.
Jeder unserer Kunden erhält ab jetzt eine individuelle Baum-Urkunde mit seiner Baumnummer und dem genauen Standort. Wir helfen also aktiv mit, die deutschen Wälder zu schützen und aufzuforsten.

Camping Küche Kitchenbox

Ähnliche Beiträge

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.